ON DISCORD
    Canonfire :: View topic - Returning to Greyhawk after 33 years....need help
    Canonfire Forum Index -> Greyhawk- AD&D 1st Edition
    Returning to Greyhawk after 33 years....need help
    Apprentice Greytalker

Thu Jan 10, 2013 5:26 am  
    Returning to Greyhawk after 33 years....need help

Hello!

I first started playing D&D after reading the Hobbit way back in the late '70s. OMG!!!! I have not played the game for over 25 years and now wish to return to my rpg roots.

For I have been running a Call of Cthulhu group for the last six years and the players are eager to play old school AD&D. I want to run them through Greyhawk and not sure were to begin.

I saw on Amazon for sale Living Greyhawk Gazetteer (Dungeons & Dragons: Living Greyhawk Campaign)... http://www.amazon.com/Living-Greyhawk-Gazetteer-Dungeons-Dragons/dp/0786917431/ref=sr_1_16?ie=UTF8&qid=1357824071&sr=8-16&keywords=world+greyhawk

Would this purchase be a good start? I also bought the premium edition reprints of the 1st edition player/DM/Monster books. Also, what adventure would be Greyhawk friendly? I was thinking about this one... http://www.dragonsfoot.org/php4/archive.php?sectioninit=FE&fileid=357&watchfile=0

Any suggestions? Just want to start them off on the right path...fun Happy
    Grandmaster Greytalker

Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:51 am  

MrHemlocks wrote:
    Hello!

I first started playing D&D after reading the Hobbit way back in the late '70s. OMG!!!! I have not played the game for over 25 years and now wish to return to my rpg roots.

-Welcome back, Mr H!

Before others jump on you, check out the "Introduce Yourself" sub-thread thread in the "Welcome to Greyhawk" threads. Wink

MrHemlocks wrote:
    ...I want to run them through Greyhawk and not sure were to begin...I also bought the premium edition reprints of the 1st edition player/DM/Monster books...

-Looks like you've settled on AD&D1.

MrHemlocks wrote: