One of the founders of our hobby and one of the most unsung contributors to Dungeons & Dragons, Len Lakofka has passed away at the age of 76.
Along with the many adventures, classes, spells, and rules he created, Len was also father of the Suel in Greyhawk, designer of their gods, and namesake of the Lendore Isles.
The value of his work goes without saying, but his presence will be sorely missed. The adventures of Leomund go on.
Thought I'd get some thoughts on the following question:
1) When a ghost successfully possesses (Magic Jars) a victim, does said ghost have access to his/her memories, skills, and knowledge?
In essence, does the ghost get the victim's proficiencies, languages, fighting abilities, and magic spell-casting (except clerical, of course)?
Or is the body now merely an empty shell with the ghost acting as the puppet-master?
2) If the ghost is possessing the newly inhabited body, what HD and THACO are used, especially if the ghost does NOT have access to the memories, skills, and knowledge of the original occupant? It doesn't seem 'reasonable' to use the ghost's HD and THACO since it is now inhabiting an empty shell and not using its semi-corporeal form. Would it merely be 1 HD and a 20 THACO for humans, etc.?
3) Is there a way to recover the removed spirit of the deceased? I know that a "simple" Raise Dead is not enough. Does it take something along the lines of a Wish or Miracle spell? Would a Resurrection work?
This is a magic jar effect, as per the spell, but there is no receptacle required and no displacement of the original soul of the target body to any receptacle. The body is possessed. This isn't two minds in one body with complete and utter mental domination of one over the other, such that the knowledge and abilities of the host are known to, and usable by, the ghost. The original soul is merely suppressed - literally it is trapped in a helpless state in its own body while the ghost inhabits the body. Excerpted from magic jar, with [ghost] bits added by me:
The caster [ghost] can call upon rudimentary or instinctive knowledge of the subject creature, but not upon its real or acquired knowledge (i.e., the wizard [ghost] does not automatically know the language or spells of the creature). The caster [ghost] retains his own attack rolls, class knowledge and training, and any adjustments due to his Intelligence or Wisdom. If the host body is human or humanoid, and the necessary spell components are available, the wizard [ghost] can even use his memorized spells. The host body retains its own hit points and physical abilities and properties. The DM decides if any additional modifications are necessary; for example, perhaps clumsiness or inefficiency occurs if the caster [ghost] must become used to the new form. The alignment of the host or receptacle is that of the occupying life force [ghost].
_________________ - Moderator/Admin (in some areas)/Member -
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum