Denizens
Jason Zavoda Presents
The Gord Novels
Greyhawk Wiki
#greytalk
JOIN THE CHAT
ON DISCORD
    Canonfire :: View topic - Wondering About the Fantastical Parts of Greyhawk
    Canonfire Forum Index -> Welcome to Greyhawk!
    Wondering About the Fantastical Parts of Greyhawk
    Novice

Mon Feb 26, 2018 7:05 am  
    Wondering About the Fantastical Parts of Greyhawk

Hey all,

So, I've really just started to get into Greyhawk (hence the newbie post). I've been gaming regularly since 1990, but was in the Realms, Dark Sun, Eberron, etc. more at the time.

However, I've been deep-diving on Greyhawk as I consider my next campaign...it's openness and possible politicking options are compelling.

I know, in a sense, that Greyhawk is very human-centric. And, while far from mundane, it's magic is diffuse in the sense that at least as I've read through the various official materials, there are not a lot of overt manifestations of magics' effects on the world.

While I fully acknowledge some of the fantastical adventure settings - Barrier Peaks, Tomb of Horrors, etc.- am I overlooking some of the more "fantastical" geographic or cultural centers of this setting?

I'm not saying that I need these elements (in truth a part of me wants to focus away from them), but I am interested.

Thanks for the help in advance, and for this community--as someone 'researching' Greyhawk it has been a wonderful resource.
    Grandmaster Greytalker

Fri Apr 20, 2018 10:17 am  
    Re: Wondering About the Fantastical Parts of Greyhawk

TheLastRogue wrote:
    ...there are not a lot of overt manifestations of magics' effects on the world...

-Sea of Dust (Rain of Colorless Fire), Dry Steppes (Invoked Devastation), Bright Desert (Scorpion Crown).

Oh. A delayed welcome! Embarassed
    CF Admin

Mon Apr 23, 2018 1:04 pm  

This might be a good start, depending on what exactly you're looking for: http://www.greyhawkonline.com/grodog/gh_sites.html

Allan.

Tue May 15, 2018 10:49 am  

Hiya!