Signup
Welcome to... Canonfire! World of GreyhawK
Features
Postcards from the Flanaess
Adventures
in Greyhawk
Cities of
Oerth
Deadly
Denizens
Jason Zavoda Presents
The Gord Novels
Greyhawk Wiki
#greytalk
JOIN THE CHAT
ON DISCORD
    Canonfire :: View topic - To Punch or Not To Punch?
    Canonfire Forum Index -> Greyhawk- AD&D 2nd Edition
    To Punch or Not To Punch?
    Author Message
    Apprentice Greytalker

    Joined: Apr 27, 2013
    Posts: 31
    From: Yeomanry

    Send private message
    Mon Sep 02, 2013 1:38 pm  
    To Punch or Not To Punch?

    Just this weekend I was running some players through A1 Slave Pits module. They entered the burned guardroom and were suprised by 8 ghouls and 2 ghasts. Things started going south when it came to save vs. paralyze rolls. The priest failed his on the very first hit he recieved and soon all but the mage were rigid on the ground getting eaten by the remaining three ghouls. Now this mage is not your typical mage -a 6'11" 300+ lb. brute who used to be a pit fighter(lvl 4) in Jalpa before turning to the magical arts. Out of usable spells he simply rolled up his sleeves and started pounding the ghouls brains out with his bare fists. He made every save when he was hit, and as I was in a generous mood I didn't make him roll vs. paralyze when his punches connected. We all had a good laugh when he saved the day, and I made a note to ask how others handle punching a ghoul. Is it the touch of the ghoul or touching a ghoul that causes paralysis?

    -GreyMaus
    GreySage

    Joined: Jul 26, 2010
    Posts: 2591
    From: LG Dyvers

    Send private message
    Mon Sep 02, 2013 4:25 pm  
    Re: To Punch or Not To Punch?

    GreyMaus wrote:
    Is it the touch of the ghoul or touching a ghoul that causes paralysis?


    3.5e/Pathfinder specifically states that it is the attacks (claws/bite) of the ghoul or ghast that force the save. I believe that is the same in earlier editions of the game as well. That is certainly the way I would play it.

    SirXaris
    _________________
    SirXaris' Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/SirXaris?ref=hl


    Last edited by SirXaris on Fri Sep 06, 2013 8:38 pm; edited 1 time in total
    GreySage

    Joined: Sep 09, 2009
    Posts: 2459
    From: SW WA state (Highvale)

    Send private message
    Mon Sep 02, 2013 5:55 pm  

    My understanding is the ghoul must claw or bite the victim for the paralysis to take effect. It's not like the ghoul is emanating some type of paralytic aura about its body or anything.

    -Lanthorn
    Adept Greytalker

    Joined: Jul 29, 2006
    Posts: 486
    From: Dantredun, MN

    Send private message
    Tue Sep 03, 2013 3:45 pm  

    I agree with your ruling on paralyzation, but I'm curious how a mage doing 1-2hp of 75% temporary damage took out three ghouls, even if he was an unarmed specialist. The defending ghoul should have received automatic initiative, +4 hit, and +4 damage each round. The other two should have surrounded him, with one getting +2 rear attack bonuses.
    Apprentice Greytalker

    Joined: Apr 27, 2013
    Posts: 31
    From: Yeomanry

    Send private message
    Thu Sep 05, 2013 4:56 am  

    Your curiosity is justified - the mage in question rolled an 18/00 strength - rolled it right there in front of us (we roll em up together and it was the first time I've ever seen it rolled legit!)) and a intelligence of 17. The other rolls were not as good (thankfully in my opinion) ranging between 6 and 11. He started life as a pit fighter kit reaching level 4 before switching over to wizard, so he had accumulated a sizable stack of hp (for a magic-user) and fighting skills. He was a 5th level wizard at the time and so was able to fall back on his combative skills with out penalty. The 1-2 points of punch damage were augmented by his strength (+6 dmg) and his specialized bonus (+2 dmg) then reduced by his kit adjustment (-2 dmg). With two punches a round and some better than average rolls the "Jalpa Giant" took out the three remaing ghouls in some close quarter combat worthy of a championship MMA fight. He was close to death by the end of it, but was able to dismember each of the ghouls after knocking them senseless just for good measure. He didn't abandon his pit fighter kit -so by the level 5 of his wizardly profession he could use his early skills without penalty I ruled. He no longer advances his fighter skills but is able to use them now and again (a good fellah to have your back in a highport tavern I'd say).
    Thanks for the responses. I feel better about the way I ruled that fight - and it was truely one that will be remembered.

    -GreyMaus
    Display posts from previous:   
       Canonfire Forum Index -> Greyhawk- AD&D 2nd Edition All times are GMT - 8 Hours
    Page 1 of 1

    Jump to:  

    You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot vote in polls in this forum




    Canonfire! is a production of the Thursday Group in assocation with GREYtalk and Canonfire! Enterprises

    Contact the Webmaster.  Long Live Spidasa!


    Greyhawk Gothic Font by Darlene Pekul is used under the Creative Commons License.

    PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
    Page Generation: 0.28 Seconds