Signup
Welcome to... Canonfire! World of GreyhawK
Features
Touring the Flanaess
Cities of
Oerth
Deadly Denizens
Greyhawk Wiki
#greytalk
JOIN THE CHAT
ON DISCORD
    Canonfire :: View topic - Minor Globe of Invulnerability
    Canonfire Forum Index -> Greyhawk- AD&D 2nd Edition
    Minor Globe of Invulnerability
    Author Message
    GreySage

    Joined: Sep 09, 2009
    Posts: 2440
    From: SW WA state (Highvale)

    Send private message
    Sat Apr 23, 2016 9:23 am  
    Minor Globe of Invulnerability

    It seems my 'rules' questions are never-ending.

    This one regards the 4th level wizard spell, Minor Globe of Invulnerability. Here are my queries:

    1) If the mage who erects the Minor Globe then casts other (1st-3rd lvl) spells (such as Shield, Mirror Image, Detection spells, etc) inside the protective sphere, then leaves the Minor Globe, only later to re-enter it (to benefit from its protective effects) will these lesser spells be removed upon penetrating the protective barrier?

    2a)Can 'friends' standing next to the mage inside the erected Globe cast spells outside it, just like the wizard who erected it? Or are they blocked?

    2b)If they aren't blocked (like the caster), can these 'friends' leave the Globe, just like the mage, and re-enter it without losing their precast spells?

    3) If a Dispel Magic is used to destroy the Globe, will pre-erected magical effects remain effectively immune to Dispellation if they occur within the Globe itself? In essence, is the Dispel Magic 'used' to neutralize the Minor Globe (after all the Globe neutralizes all 1st-3rd lvl spells, and the Dispel Magic is, itself, a 3rd lvl spell for both priests and mages)?

    4) Are all 1st through 3rd lvl spells, regardless of duration or area of effect, temporarily neutralized upon passing through the Minor Globe? This includes such spells as Strength, Detection spells, Prayer, various Protections, etc., so long as they are 1st through 3rd level?

    If I have any other questions, I will add them to the list. Thank you for your answers. I appreciate it.

    -Lanthorn
    Black Hand of Oblivion

    Joined: Feb 16, 2003
    Posts: 3776
    From: So. Cal

    Send private message
    Sun May 01, 2016 10:17 pm  
    Re: Minor Globe of Invulnerability

    Lanthorn wrote:
    It seems my 'rules' questions are never-ending.

    This one regards the 4th level wizard spell, Minor Globe of Invulnerability. Here are my queries:

    1) If the mage who erects the Minor Globe then casts other (1st-3rd lvl) spells (such as Shield, Mirror Image, Detection spells, etc) inside the protective sphere, then leaves the Minor Globe, only later to re-enter it (to benefit from its protective effects) will these lesser spells be removed upon penetrating the protective barrier?

    No, because..."The caster can leave and enter the glove without penalty".

    2a)Can 'friends' standing next to the mage inside the erected Globe cast spells outside it, just like the wizard who erected it? Or are they blocked?

    Yes.

    2b)If they aren't blocked (like the caster), can these 'friends' leave the Globe, just like the mage, and re-enter it without losing their precast spells?

    No, because they are not the caster (see the answer to question one above). Spells with durations are not nullified though, and are only suppressed until the person leaves the globe or the globe duration ends.

    3) If a Dispel Magic is used to destroy the Globe, will pre-erected magical effects remain effectively immune to Dispellation if they occur within the Globe itself? In essence, is the Dispel Magic 'used' to neutralize the Minor Globe (after all the Globe neutralizes all 1st-3rd lvl spells, and the Dispel Magic is, itself, a 3rd lvl spell for both priests and mages)?

    No. Dispel magic targets EVERY magical effect (including potions) within its area of effect, of which the globe is one.

    4) Are all 1st through 3rd lvl spells, regardless of duration or area of effect, temporarily neutralized upon passing through the Minor Globe? This includes such spells as Strength, Detection spells, Prayer, various Protections, etc., so long as they are 1st through 3rd level?

    If you mean, does an enemy with those effects upon him lose them if he enters the globe to attack the caster/others? Yes, such effects are suppressed while within the globe. The globe also creates a "dead zone" within a larger area of effect for magic that has a larger area of effect. A 1st-3rd level spell that passes through or is cast into the area of the globe is nullified. For instance, melf's acid arrow cast at a target within or on the other side of the globe will be neutralized, whereas a fireball targeted at a point outside the globe, but not on the other side of it such that the streaking spark would have to pass through the globe to get to its detonation point, will explode and damage everything in its area of effect, but touch nothing with the globe. An area of darkness will have a globe-sized hole in it, and so on. Characters within the globe can cast the spells you mentioned upon themselves while within the globe, and those effects will remain active while they remain within the globe, but if they are not the caster of the globe and they leave and return to the globe, those effects will then be temporarily suppressed as usual.

    _________________
    - Moderator/Admin (in some areas)/Member -
    GreySage

    Joined: Sep 09, 2009
    Posts: 2440
    From: SW WA state (Highvale)

    Send private message
    Wed May 04, 2016 3:40 pm  

    I very much appreciate your input, Cebrion. If I have any more annoying questions, you can bet your bottom copper that I'll inquire!

    Any other suggestions or comments are welcome from other posters, of course.

    -Lanthorn
    Display posts from previous:   
       Canonfire Forum Index -> Greyhawk- AD&D 2nd Edition All times are GMT - 8 Hours
    Page 1 of 1

    Jump to:  

    You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot vote in polls in this forum


    Forums ©


    Canonfire! is a production of the Thursday Group in assocation with GREYtalk and Canonfire! Enterprises

    Contact the Webmaster.  Long Live Spidasa!


    Greyhawk Gothic Font by Darlene Pekul is used under the Creative Commons License.

    PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
    Page Generation: 0.31 Seconds